The purple sofabed (or vintage IKEA)

More recycling and more second-hand! Or vintage IKEA…if you like the idea!

Our friends in Viktoria Luise Platz had just bought pretty sofa, but with hindsight it proved to be a dash too small. Coincidentally, I had a crush exactly on that shade of crushed plum purple, but that specific IKEA sofabed oh my god was no longer available in the catalogue…

Deal! With a little help by D. for putting all the pieces together in the right order, the sofabed landed in the 60s flat in good company with the green glass shelf!

After all, green and purple go well together, they are my favourite colors. And such a small flat needs easy pieces, but with a soul and an intriguing past!

Zero-emissions, and on budget…

4 Responses to “The purple sofabed (or vintage IKEA)”


  1. 1 Fry August 1, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    Hey, do you have a pic of the sofa/bed? I am looking for one too and I am curious if there is still something similar from IKEA. Fry

  2. 2 stripedcat August 1, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    hi Fry
    unfortunately I cancelled the pictures of my latest Berlin trip argh.
    However, it’s called beddinge or something like that…you know, one of the click-clack ones…but with legs hidden by the purple cover so quite nice, like a 60s banquette. You’ll find on ikea.de
    I guess now it is available in white and black (with bare aluminium color legs uhm…) and in brown and an “impegnativo” coldish pink. That chevron motif on crushed plum velvet was groovy…wonder why they discontinued it!
    I hope it helps!
    StripedCat

  3. 3 AliceinIKEAland October 15, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Why is it that I seldom ever hear of “vintage” IKEA. I guess we always associate IKEA with being brand spanking new. IKEA is my favorite brand because they will never be BORING. They are all about creativity and fun. My new favorite thing is their new web series, Easy to Assemble. I heard that they have not even finished writing the story. They will let viewers choose Illeana Douglas or Justine Bateman to be IKEA’s Coworker of the Year. I voted for Justine. You can vote too. Go to the site http://www.easytoassembleseries.com

    Also check out Justine’s blog http://www.40andbitter.tv

  4. 4 stripedcat October 16, 2009 at 12:27 am

    😀

    after all, also the bauhaus movement started as “good design for the masses”…not for the bo-bos!

    thank you for the heads up, I’m checking out this series I did not know!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to keep track of what's going on at AflatinBerlin - check your Inbox (and Junk mailbox too) to activate the subscription!

Join 10 other followers

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 37,672 hits

